Daily Current Affairs (English) - 27.07.2018



The West Bengal Assembly passed a resolution on Thursday to rename the state as 'Bangla' in three languages Bengali, English and Hindi. The move is aimed at climbing the alphabetical sequence of state names in which West Bengal appears last in the list now. The state will have to wait for the nod from the Home Ministry for a final approval on the resolution. Earlier, the Centre had rejected the state government's proposals of having three names Bangla (in Bengali), Bengal (in English) and Bangal (in Hindi). The Mamata Banerjee government's proposal of renaming West Bengal as "Paschim Bango" in 2011 was also turned down by the Centre.

State renaming process

  • Provisions have been made regarding the creation and reorganization of states in Article 3 of the Indian Constitution.
  • According to them, Parliament can take steps in matters related to the creation of a new state, extension of a state, subtracting the territory of any state, changing the boundaries of a state and making changes in the name of any state.
  • The State Legislature sends a proposal to the Central Government in this regard.
  • Obtaining President's approval on this proposal is mandatory. After the approval, the Central Government can ask the State / State Legislature of the respective States to keep their views and submit it to Parliament within a certain time.
  • On receipt of majority in Parliament, final name for change of name of the state becomes final.


Every year September would be celebrated as the National Nutrition Month to mark the country's fight against malnutrition, the Ministry of Women and Child Development has said.The ministry would, in the month, organise programmes to spread awareness on the issues related to malnutrition like stunting, under-nutrition, anemia and low birth weight in children and focus on adolescent girls, pregnant women and lactating mothers, according to an official statement.

The decision to celebrate September as the National Nutrition Month was taken during the second meeting of National Council on India's Nutrition Challenges under the Poshan Abhiyaan yesterday. The meeting was chaired by Women and Child Development Minister Maneka Gandhi, Minister of Consumer Affairs, Food & Public Distribution Ram Vilas Paswan and NITI Aayog Vice-Chairman Rajiv Kumar.



The 10th BRICS Summit is all set to begin at Johannesburg on 25th July. The Summit will be attended by Prime Minister Narendra Modi, along with other heads of the BRICS Nations, viz Brazil, Russia, China and South Africa. The theme for this summit is ‘BRICS in Africa: Collaboration for inclusive growth and shared prosperity in the 4th Industrial Revolution'. Modi is likely to meet Chinese President Xi Jinping on the sidelines of the summit.

Major issues raised by India:

  • Indian Prime Minister BRICS can lift the issue of terrorism from across the border in the summit.
  • Indian officials have already taken up the matter with other BRICS members.
  • According to TS Trimurthy, secretary of the Economic Relations Ministry of External Affairs, during this summit, the issue of BRICS rating agency can also be raised.
  • During the first meeting of BRICS Finance Ministers, India had put pressure on the BRICS nations to establish an independent rating agency of a five-member group.
  • In 2016, BRICS countries were ready to form an independent rating agency, which was decided to be made on current principles to solve global issues.

What is B.R.I.C.S?

  • The establishment of the B.R.I.C.S was made in 2006 by four countries - Brazil, Russia, India and China.
  • The names of these countries are named after B.R.I.C (BRIC) on the basis of first letter. Later, after joining South Africa in 2010, its current name became B.R.I.C.S (BRICS).
  • B.R.I.C.S means Brazil, Russia, India, China and South Africa are the organizations of five countries in the world, which are termed as emerging economic powers of the world.
  • The first summit of B.R.I.C. Desh was organized in 2009, but the B.R.I.C.S was started in 2006.
  • The idea of ​​BRICS was first given by Jim O'Neal, economist of Goldmen Sech, a financial advisory company in 2003.
  • Jim O'Neal gave Brick the idea of ​​"Dreaming with BRICS: The path to 2050" published in 2003. According to him, the development potential of four countries - Brazil, Russia, India, China, is so high that by 2050 these countries will be the world's largest economies.
  • Currently the economies of the United States and European Union are the world's largest economies.

Purpose of establishing BRICS

  • The main purpose of establishing BRICS is to assist our member countries.
  • These countries assist each other in the field of financial, technology and business for the development of each other.
  • BRICS countries also own a bank.
  • The name of this bank is the new development bank.
  • Its function is to provide financial assistance to members countries and other countries in the form of loans.\

The importance of bricks in the current scenario

  • In the last 10 years, BRICS has become an important platform for collaboration between emerging markets and developing countries.
  • BRICS member countries include the countries of Asia, Africa, Europe and America and include countries of G20.
  • BRICS countries hold 22.53 percent of GDP of the world.
  • This country does 18 percent of the world's business.
  • According to the International Monetary Fund (IMF) data, these countries have played 50 percent participation in global economic growth over the last 10 years.



Two Indians are among this year's Ramon Magsaysay award, regarded as an Asian version of the Nobel Prize. The list also includes a Cambodian genocide survivor who helped document the Khmer Rouge atrocities. India's Bharat Vatwani was awarded for leading the rescue of thousands of mentally ill street paupers to treat and reunite them with their families. Sonam Wangchuk won the award for his contribution in harnessing nature, culture and education for community progress.

The other recipients named a Filipino who led peace talks with communist insurgents, a polio-stricken Vietnamese who fought discrimination against the disabled, an East Timorese who built care centers for the poor amid civil strife.

Do you know?

  • The Ramon Magsaysay Award named after Ramon Magsaysay, the seventh President of the Philippines.
  • The Ramon Magsaysay Award Foundation gives the prize to Asian individuals achieving excellence in their respective fields.
  • Acharya Vinoba Bhave was the first Indian to win this award in 1958.
  • The award is internationally-recognized as Asia's Nobel Prize counterpart and is the highest award given to Asian individuals and organizations.



Veteran sports journalist Swapan Sarkar (67-year) passed away due to diabetic complications. In mid-1990's, He was also the Delhi sports correspondent of Ananda Bazaar Patrika (ABP).