History Practice Quiz for CHSL and RRB NTPC Examination - 2018 (Test - 38)

Staff Selection Commission

Model Questions for  CHSL and RRB NTPC Examination

1. Who was elected as the permanent President of the Muslim League in 1908 ?
(A) Nawab Salimullah
(B) Syed Ahmad Khan
(C) Aga Khan
(D) Syed Amir Ali
2. According to Sarojini Naidu who was ‘‘the ambassador of Hindu-Muslim Unity’’ ?
(A) Syed Ahmad Khan
(B) Hasrat Mohani
(C) Maulana Azad
(D) Mohammad Ali Jinnah

3. Which of the following statements are not true of the Home Rule Movement ?
I. The demand was for selfgovernment and not complete independence.
II. The movement included promoting political education to build a base for selfgovernment
III. It did not achieve much impact or popularity.
IV. The movement was the part of the Congress activity.
(A) I and II
(B) II and III
(C) III and IV
(D) IV and I

4. The two Home Leagues were founded in 1916. Their founders were
I. Annie Besant
II. B. G. Tilak
III. Motilal Nehru
IV. Sardar Patel
(A) I and II
(B) II and III
(C) III and IV
(D) IV and I
5. The partition of Bengal made in 1905—
(A) Was annulled as a result of the Morley-Minto Reforms in 1919
(B) Was withdrawn in 1908 because of the immense protests it evoked
(C) Was annulled by the king’s proclamation at the Delhi Durbar in 1911
(D) Continued till India got independence
6. The basic defect of the Lucknow Pact was—
(A) It was an agreement purely based on the bond of common hatred of the foreign rule
(B) It was based on the wrong notion that Hindus and Muslims formed separate communities
(C) It was a marriage of convenience without a pontiff
(D) It was a pact between powerless potentates

7. Who among the following is known as ‘the liberator of the press’ ?
(A) William Jones
(B) Wellesley
(C) Sir Charles Metcalfe
(D) Lord Minto

8. Who had given the title of ‘Mahatma’ to Gandhi .
(A) B. G. Tilak
(B) Gopal Krishna Gokhale
(C) Moti Lal Nehru
(D) Rabindra Nath Tagore

9. Who had said on the death of Tilak ‘my strongest bulwark is gone’ .
(A) Shaukat Ali
(B) Muhammad Ali
(C) Lala Lajpat Rai
(D) Mahatma Gandhi
10. Rabindra Nath Tagore renounced his knighthood for which reason.
(A) Jallianwalla Bagh Tragedy
(B) Cruel suppression of Civil Disobedience Movement
(C) Bhagat Singh was hanged
(D) Chauri-Chaura incident

ANSWERS: 1 - (C) 2 - (C) 3 - (C) 4 - (A) 5 - (C) 6 - (B) 7 - (C) 8 - (D) 9 - (D) 10- (A)